Contact Us

Coding Services

CPT Codes

CPT, the five digit alphanumeric codes, published by the AMA is used to describe medical, surgical and diagnostic services accurately. This most widely accepted coding system in both the private and public health insurance is structured into three primary categories:

  • Category I contains codes with six main procedural sections – Evaluation and management, Anesthesia, Surgery, Radiology, Pathology and laboratory, Medicine.
  • Category II codes are determined through a highly collaborative process with the major players in the healthcare industry, and are aimed at categorizing patient services. This category currently comprises 11 sections including – Physical exams, Therapeutic and Preventative Measures, Patient Management, Diagnosis or Screening Measures and Patient Safety.
  • Category III codes are reserved for procedures involving emerging technologies and concepts. These can include the latest advances in treatments derived from gene sequencing or stem cell research to new techniques resulting from the most recent advancements in the understanding of psychology and human behavior.
  • CPT codes are accompanied by modifiers, when applicable.

ICD (International Classification of Diseases) Codes:

Each procedure code must have a related diagnosis code that describes the patient’s condition. Providers must use the most accurate code for services reported on an insurance claim. The International Classification of Diseases is a system of medical diagnostic or medical insurance codes that were developed by the World Health Organization (WHO); this is a system of medical diagnostic or medical insurance alphanumeric codes applied to any diagnosis, symptom, or cause of death.

The current version 9, used in the U.S. is in the process of being replaced by ICD-10.

We Are Ready for the ICD-10 Change

With the goal for improving coding accuracy and richness of data for analysis, the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) has mandated the replacement of the ICD-9-CM code sets used by medical coders and billers to report healthcare diagnoses and procedures with ICD-10 codes, effective October 1, 2015.

The implementation will radically change the way coding is currently done and require a significant effort to implement. Our coders are well-versed on these changes and we can help you implement the new version of codes into your current medical billing.

Our Medical Coding Specialists Are:

  • Certified through the Association of Professional Coders (AAPC)
  • Experienced in multiple specialties
  • Experienced in using appropriate codes
  • Aware of payer guidelines
  • ICD 10 ready
  • Annually updated regarding the regular changes